The best damn yogurt you’ll ever eat

I started eating yogurt in 1982 (don’t ask me how I know this, I just remember things), and it was quite the experience.

I don’t know if 10 year olds should really be eating yogurt, but if that’s the case, I must have been normal because I didn’t like it. I didn’t like the sort of sour cream taste that accompanied whatever fruit was on the bottom, and I didn’t feel like eating it on a regular basis would be in my future plans. 

However, over the years I did start to eat yogurt on a regular basis (a practice that endures to this day), but while it certainly has evolved over the years to become its own institution in the food industry, it’s still never quite advanced to the point where something that says, “Cherry Pie Yogurt” actually tastes like a piece of cherry pie–at least totally.

But on Sunday, as I skipped over to Giant Eagle’s Market District after my LAFitness workout, I decided to not buy my usual Dannon Greek Yogurt brand of chocolate raspberry, and instead I honed in on a flavor called Apple Caremal Pie. It was only 80 calories (at least that’s what the label read), so I didn’t have high expectations after I arrived back home and put spoon to product. 

But once I took my first bite, I had to check that label to make sure it was actually fat free and it was actually only 80 calories, because, let me tell you, it was the greatest serving of yogurt I have ever had in my entire life. 

I swear I gulped down the entire thing in about two spoonfuls. It seriously tasted exactly like a piece of caramel apple pie, and I felt like I gained two pounds just by eating it. 

I was so happy to share my story with the world via twitter, but I began to get a sinking feeling when I realized that, in addition to the 80 calorie alert, the label also said, “Limited Edition.” And, of course, this meant that there was no way this particular kind of yogurt was going to be on the shelves of Giant Eagle (or anywhere else) for long. 

Sure enough, after my evening workout at LAFitness tonight, I ventured back over to the Market District determined to buy two or three cups of this awesome yogurt. Unfortunately, there was none in sight. 

Seriously, though, it was the best yogurt ever, and if you find it anywhere, eat that sucker. 

You really won’t be sorry. 

Leave a comment