Friends

Since my volleyball game was canceled, I met up with the PSL Thursday running group tonight, which ran from Rivertowne on the North Shore.

Like every other week, my slow self ran, well, by myself, which was cool, other  than the part where I missed a  turn and had to make up my own route.

But, I don’t go to these  things to run.  I go  to socialize. At first, the socializing was hard, but these people are beginning to warm up to my charm, and I must say, we’re becoming friends and stuff.

Two of these runners even noticed my new, super-short haircut I got this morning as a response to my seeing the back of my own head in one of those three-way mirrors at the mall last night, as well as the impending job interview I have next Tuesday.

I mean, anyone who’s known me for more than a few years would notice this haircut, but I didn’t expect anyone from the Tuesday/Thursday running groups to notice. They did, and they liked it, which is no surprise since every woman I’ve ever been involved with for a prolonged period of time has told me I look better with shorter hair (well, except for the goth woman I dated in my early 20s who wanted me to grow my hair really long, which was freakin ridiculous, even back when I wasn’t thinning).

But the great thing about cutting my hair super-short is I don’t look as balding. And, since I decided to go with the regular, parted, balding look for about five years,  I was worried that a super-cropped look would reveal even more hair loss. However, it’s about the same as it was five or 10 years ago, which makes me wonder if maybe I have a thyroid problem or something (when I was in my 20s, no way in heck did anyone think I’d ever start losing my hair).

Anyway, I even had a brief but awesome interaction with the one woman from my old volleyball team, which means I guess we’re friends now.

I don’t know what’s  going to happen when I do get another job, but I will certainly miss these running groups.

And that’s something I never thought I would have said even a few months ago.

Leave a comment